You are here

2006

2006 Calendar of Events

2006
Friday,
Jan 13
Regular Meeting
Topic: A Dome on a Home: The Story of Winchester Observatory
Speaker: Walter MacDonald (Kingston)
2006
Mon, Jan 23
Members' Observing at Lemoine Point

Report: Regulus, 2006 February, pp.4-5.

2006
Fri, Feb 10
Members' Night
2006
Fri, Mar 10
Regular Meeting
Topic: Copernicus, Kepler and the Mystery of the Analemma
Speaker: Dr. Bryce Bennett (RMC)

Summary:"This will be an historical talk on the astronomical theories of Copernicus and Kepler. One of the critical problems that engaged early supporters of heliocentrism was the motion of the Earth itself. While Copernicus was able to show the internal consistency of a Sun-centred planetary system, it was Kepler who successfully 'disentangled' the true motion of our home planet from the apparent motions of the other planets. This crucial innovation would eventually lead Kepler to the discovery of the elliptical planetary orbit.

2006
Fri, Apr 14
Regular Meeting
Peter McMahon- Discovery Channel
2006
Sat, May 6
International Astronomy Day

Report: Regulus, 2006 June, pp.4-6.

2006
Fri, May 12
Regular Meeting
Pic du Midi Observatory
Speaker: James Sylvester (RMC, Queens)
2006
Friday,
May 19-22
RASC General Assembly, Ottawa
2006
Fri, Jun 2
Relay for Life 2006

Report: Regulus, 2006 July, pp.5-6.
Report: Regulus, 2006 August, pp.2-3.

2006
Fri, Jun 9
Regular Meeting

Report: Regulus, 2006 July, pp.7-8.

2006
Sat, Jun 10
KAON Public Observing

Report: Regulus, 2006 August, page 7.

2006
Fri, Jul 14
Regular Meeting
Topic: IOTA (International Occulation Timing Association
Speaker: Guy Nason (Toronto)
2006
Fri, Aug 11
MarkFest BBQ
Topic: The CASTOR Project
Speaker: Mike Earl (Ottawa)
2006
Fri, Sep 8
Members' Night
2006
Fri, Oct 13
Members' Night
2006
Sat, Nov 4
KC Banquet 2006

Report: Regulus, 2006 December, page 2.

2006
Fri, Nov 10
Regular Meeting
Topic: The Importance of Multiband Observations in Astronomy
Speaker: Mike McDonald (Queen's University)
2006
Sat, Nov 11
KAON Public Observing

Report: Regulus, 2006 December, page 2.

2006
Fri, Dec 8
Regular Meeting

The RASC Kingston Centre meets once a month, on the 2nd Friday of each month at 7:30 pm (19:30) in Stirling Hall (Theatre A) on Queen's University Campus unless noted otherwise.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer